Worldpackers offers collaborative experiences that transform people and the world, and the feedback exchange is the main element to ensure that experiences are achieving the development goal for both sides.
That’s why we use feedback from our users as a basis for regulating the WP community, using Worldpackers Experiences Quality and Safety Policies as standard to keep it safe, welcoming and full of development.
Below are the scenarios and criteria that lead to an account being permanently deactivated at Worldpackers.
- Automatic Deactivation
- Deactivation due to Extreme Issues
- Is it possible to create a new account if the profile has been permanently deactivated?
- What happens to a permanently deactivated account?
- What if the experience is also not positive for the host?
If the project is not offering an experience within ideal quality and safety requirements, the account will be permanently deactivated by an automatic process that evaluates the following criteria combination:
Receive 4 or more reviews with ratings below 3 stars in the last 180 days
Have an Average Rating lower than 4.0 within the same period
Is it possible to reactivate an account that was automatically deactivated?
Permanent deactivation, unlike temporary pause, is not reversible. That is, a host will lose access to the account if they continue to offer experiences that do not meet our requirements.
This is because we send alerts on the platform before automatically deactivating an account, and we also provide content collections to hosts about the best practices in the world of collaborative experiences to ensure community development.
Deactivation due to Extreme Issues
Negative feedback made by any member of the community (travelers or hosts), reporting extreme situations - that is, involving conflicts that compromise the physical, moral and/or psychological integrity of travelers on the part of the hosts, will lead to the immediate deactivation of the project’s account until the situation is verified by the Worldpackers team. If a recurrence of negative feedback is detected, the account will be permanently deactivated.
- Public feedbacks - received through reviews on the platform - and private - sent directly to the Worldpackers team - are considered in the decision making process.
- If official documents issued by local authorities or any other records - such as audio and images - are submitted and can prove that the volunteer felt physically, morally and/or psychologically harmed, the project account will be deactivated immediately and it will not be possible to reactivate it.
If Worldpackers, in good faith, believes that the proposed experience may generate any risks to the travelers’ physical, moral and/or psychological integrity, the account may be deactivated without prior notice and without the possibility of reactivation
Inappropriate communications and/or those that physically, morally and/or psychologically harm members of the Worldpackers community or team will result in the account deactivation, without prior notice and without the possibility of reactivation.
Is it possible to reactivate an account that has been deactivated due to extreme issues?
It will only be possible to reactivate an account deactivated due to extreme cases if, after an analysis made by the Worldpackers team, there is no recurrence of negative feedback with extreme situations and no official documents issued by local authorities or any other records - such as audio and images - that can prove that the volunteer felt physically, morally and/or psychologically harmed.
In this situation, the reactivation time-limit will be one month - upon request by the host to our team -, so that the Worldpackers team has time to perform all the necessary investigation. If, after this period, we receive any comments that indicate recurrence of the situation, the profile will be permanently deactivation, without the possibility of reactivation.
Is it possible to create a new account if the profile has been permanently deactivated?
Any accounts created by the same host and/ or project that has already had a profile permanently deactivated will not be accepted in our approval process, as well as deactivated immediately in the case of duplicate profiles or containing false information.
What happens to a permanently deactivated account?
When an account is permanently deactivated - either automatically or in extreme cases -, access to account features is revoked and all open conversations with volunteers are automatically closed. This implies the cancellation of all confirmed trips in future dates, in addition to pre-approval messages cancellation.
All volunteers who have confirmed trips will be formally communicated by the platform so that we can help them in the best way possible.
What if the experience is also not positive for the host?
In case of unexpected situations during an experience, we recommend that the host and traveler talk and look for a suitable solution to the problem together. If it is not possible to have an effective and transparent communication, the host can count on our team to help them face the situation in the best way possible - either through content and tips or, in somr cases, by contacting us through our Help Center.
To avoid surprises for both sides, it is ideal for hosts and travelers to talk about improvement points during their own experience and then leave their feedback on the platform, because we believe that the community members' opinions and comments are fundamental for the development of the experiences and people involved in them to develop. Therefore, we guarantee the privacy and the members’ right to free expression, as long as the shared opinions are constructive and respectful, following our Review Content Policy.
This helps us ensure that our review tool exists for the feedback exchange in a healthy way, being a safe space for it.
+ See the Temporary Pause Policy, which precedes Automatic Permanent Deactivation.